top of page

Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux Will Conclude First Half of the Season at Assen Circuit

  • Exciting battle for the overall title among top competitors from different classes

  • Balanced mix between various Porsche 911 GT3 Cup and Porsche Cayman GT4 RS models

Zonhoven, July 8, 2024 - The Assen Circuit will host the third of five meetings of the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux on Wednesday, July 10. Following the event in Northern Netherlands, the series will continue with races at Spa and Circuit Zandvoort in early September and October, respectively. The title fight is intense across all levels, with a particularly open competition for the overall title, showcasing that anyone in the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux has a chance to win. Additionally, Assen will again see a balanced representation of the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup and Porsche Cayman GT4 RS models.

Two meetings, or four 30-minute sprint races, have already taken place in the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux. After events at Circuit Zandvoort and Circuit Zolder, Niels Troost (Team GP Elite) leads the points standings and the ‘992’ class. Close behind, just nine points adrift, is young talent Mees Muller (PG Motorsport), who also leads the ‘GT4’ class. G. King (W.D.P. Racing) is third overall, leading the ‘GT4 AM’ class with 29 points. Michael Cool (Belgium Racing) currently sits in fourth place, holding a one-point advantage over Lennart Hiemstra (Triple & Crown Racing), the leader of the ‘992 AM’ class.

"The Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux is open to various types of Porsche competition cars, offering a very open and fair-play competition for everyone," says Series Manager Lars Plato. "At Assen, alongside the various Porsche 911 GT3 Cup – Type 992 – and the Porsche Cayman GT4 RS, we'll also see a Porsche 911 GT3 Cup – Type 991 –, driven by Erik Geerts for AKG Motorsport. This demonstrates that the Type 991 remains an excellent car for enjoying motorsport."

The setup for the third round of the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux remains identical to previous race days, with all the action packed into one day. It includes a morning practice session, qualifications, and two 30-minute races concluding in the evening. Between sessions, participants and team members can relax in the paddock with professional hospitality and a convivial awards ceremony at the end of the day.

The sporting highlight will be the battle at the front between Niels Troost and Michael Cool, who have collectively won three out of the four races, with Jan Lauryssen claiming a guest victory at Circuit Zolder.

The action at Assen starts at 9:00 AM, with qualification at 11:40 AM, and the two races commencing at 2:50 PM and 5:15 PM.

30 views0 comments


bottom of page