top of page

Jaxon Verhoeven & Speedlover wins the overall title in the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux

-Alexander Goddijn (Team GP Elite) wins the final race and becomes vice champion in the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux 2023

- Jean-Pierre Verhoeven (Speedlover) becomes champion in the 992 AM class

- Arthur Peters (Tip Top Rent by NGT) takes the crown in GT4, Martijn Peters (JW Raceservice) wins in the 991 class

Spa-Francorchamps, Friday, October 13, 2023. The final round of the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux was on the menu in the Belgian Ardennes and, as usual, everything was completed in one day, a day in which the champions of an amazing 2023 season were announced. The overall victories went to the title rivals, Jaxon Verhoeven and Alexander Goddijn, with Verhoeven ultimately winning the title. We also know the champions in the other classes, after a season that already makes us look forward to the next year of the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux.

Jaxon Verhoeven and Alexander Goddijn went to Spa-Francorchamps with only one goal in mind: the title. After they each secured one pole position at Spa-Francorchamps, each recorded one fastest lap time and each took one victory, the champion was known: Jaxon Verhoeven.

“I am very happy,” the new champion Jaxon Verhoeven beamed on the podium after the last race of the season. “They were really two exciting matches, with a very fair opponent. In the second race I was still in the front one lap from the end, but I didn't want to take the risk... Thanks to the Speedlover team.”

Alexander Goddijn finished second in Race 1 and won the closing event of the season. “I won't lose the title here, but earlier in the season. However, I really enjoyed the fight and hope to be there again in the future.” Sacha Norden (Team GP Elite) finished both races in the Belgian Ardennes in third place.

Also father Jean-Pierre!

In the '992 AM' class, Jean-Pierre Verhoeven took the double on the fast Belgian asphalt and thus secured the title, just like his son in the colors of Speedlover. “This is of course very nice, to be able to celebrate your son's in addition to your own title,” Verhoeven said afterwards. Verhoeven became champion, ahead of his teammate Kurt Hensen, a double for Speedlover.

In the GT4 class, Arthur Peters did the same, also taking both victories to secure the title, while Lennart Hiemstra (Triple & Crown Racing) finished the season in second place. Graham King (WDP Racing) and Bogdan Duma (Q1 Trackracing) secured the victories in GT4 AM, the Romanian Duma was already assured of the title.

Last but not least, Patrick van den Berg (PG Motorsport) and Martijn Peters (JW Raceservice) took the victories in the '991' class, with Peters able to end the season as champion.

“It was a great season, with many new drivers who were able to get a taste of our series and most of whom also indicated that they wanted to continue. Our series is the perfect bridge between the track days and the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux and that translates into a competition that continues to grow,” says Lars Plato, the Series Manager of the Porsche Sprint Challenge Benelux. “Next year we will continue on this path and, among other things, the arrival of the Porsche Cayman GT4 RS further strengthens our platform. And in terms of sport, the Dutch riders won four titles, while the Belgian teams also celebrated four times. This is a real Benelux competition! I would like to conclude with a huge thank you to all the teams, drivers, employees… who made this season a great motorsport celebration!”

Information about the 2024 calendar will follow in the near future.

201 views0 comments


bottom of page